Pot Limit Omaha Poker Forums

chart for hand ranges in PLO

or track by Email or RSS

realestate

8 posts
Joined 02/2009

hi i'm a plo beginner and was just wondering if theres a hand range chart for plo. i still have some trouble with determining if my hand is actually good or not. thanks

Posted about 5 years ago

Oink

787 posts
Joined 06/2007

I havent ever seen or heard of one and I dont think they are out there. Mind you the number of possible hands in omaha is so great its virtually impossible to make one.

Its also a pretty bad idea to follow one imo. PF in PLO is sooooo dependent on stacks and villains.

In some spots you can open virtually any 4 OTB and in other spots you need to tighten up significantly to below 50%.

CO ranges are also highly dependent on who is OTB. If there is a tight player OTB and one or two bad blinds you can prolly open as much as 40-50%. If you have a good player OTB and/or you are deep then you proly cant play much more than 15% and you should prolly consider openlimping

A final example is 3betting. Double suited junk plays pretty well in position against a wide range with not too deep stacks. But when stacks get deep they lose value fast because a PF 3bet wont make the SPR small enough. What hands to 3bet oop also depends greatly on stacks. Sufficiently deep against a good player you should prolly not even 3bet AAJTds.

Finally due to all the short stackers you need to consider your betsizing with not only open raises but also 3bets.

Personally I play a TAG style with some succes. I am 24/19 filtered for 5-6 handed and I open about 13% UTG, 20% in the HJ, 30% in the CO and 60% OTB. But as said PF is pretty dynamic so take it fwiw.

BTW at propokertools you can rank the hands, It was pretty instructional for me but again mind you that postflop obviously matters so the hand rankings measured by hot/cold equity will not be the same for various stack sizes and for being ip or oop

Posted about 5 years ago

delcrossb

4267 posts