May 26, 2011
E-wallet Mess: QuickTender, Chargestream, and Maryland Indictments
I'm not much of an Internet sleuth but a new rage over the latest money being stolen from me (is this the 3rd or 4th instance, I've lost count...) has lit a little fire under my ass. I wanted to do some digging and try to see what I can find.
As I detailed in my last posting, UseMyWallet/QuickTender was effected by the most recent Maryland Indictments. It was a bit unclear as to how they were effected until I did some digging. The reason it wasn't immediately clear is people behind UMW were not named and indicted, only one (or more) of their bank accounts got seized.
From reading the various 2+2 posts on the subject, I came across someone mentioning the company Chargestream LTD and they were somehow linked to UMW/QT. As a result, I started to do some digging.
It took me a while to find the hard evidence that Chargestream LTD was actually linked (or is) UMW until I found this: Linkwood Affidavit
In this affidavit on page 2 you can see this:
I double checked a recent bank wire receipt form from my bank where I had received a bank wire in early April. Sure enough, the account number in item 10 above was the exact same bank number from the Netherlands and under the originator was the name CHARGESTREAM LTD.
Now that we know for sure there is some link between Chargestream and UMW/QT, it was time to do some more digging. I was looking for names to see if I could tie them to the indictments at all.
I found a website where I could buy these 2 documents:
Chargesteam Annual Return 2010
In those 2 documents were the names Paul Templeman and John Briggs. They are the 2 directors and shareholders of the company. They are currently not named in the Maryland indictments but their company bank account is seized.
Of further interest, the first document shows that on May 23rd, 2011 they changed their name to Nationwide Payments LTD. Perhaps related, their old website http://www.chargestream.com/ (at the time of this writing) shows an Apache HTTP server default page, indicating that they are potentially in the process of removing their site. Many of the other pages still work though (accessed via google).
What does it all mean? I'm not sure, but hopefully putting this out there will inspire others to find some threads to yank on.
Additionally, according to Linkwood Affidavit the Maryland DOJ set up a fake payment processing company called "Linkwood" aka http://paymentprocessingsolutions.com/ where the Maryland DOJ went undercover to process gambling transactions in order to learn how the industry works and then subsequently bust the people using their service. This is how Chargestream LTD got nailed and as a result our UMW/QT money got seized. See here on page: 13 from the Affidavit:
it mentions Nemesis Group giving the direction to use the Chargestream accounts. Back in that first Company Data PDF, you might notice that Paul Templeman has ties to a NEMESIS SYSTEMS LTD as a director appointed in 2007. It's unclear to me if this is the same as Nemesis Group but it doesn't seem like a huge mental leap to assume so.
More digging needs to be done on this front and others...hopefully others will start doing some digging as well and maybe we piece some more stuff together.



4 Comments:
mitch posted on May 26, 2011 at 06:17 AM
:(
TecmoSuperBowl posted on May 26, 2011 at 20:37 PM
Sounds like you need to sick NoahSD on them! Subject:Poker article?
Also, who knew it was all linkwood's fault!?
hobsjeff posted on May 29, 2011 at 03:16 AM
Thank me later ok. John Briggs skype is jmbriggs. Email is johnb@nemesis-group.com . Ask him WTF!!
hobsjeff posted on May 29, 2011 at 03:25 AM
Guys these are all layers. Chargestream/PSI-Pay, UMW, QT, Nemesis Group, etc etc are all the same thing. They tried to create mutliple layers...
Log in or sign up to leave a comment!