Poker Video: No Limit Hold'Em by WiltOnTilt (Micro/Small Stakes)

Mentor: WiltOnTilt (#3) - 100NL HU Review Part 2

This video is a two minute preview. To view the entire video, please Log In or Sign Up Now

Mentor: WiltOnTilt (#3) - 100NL HU Review Part 2 by WiltOnTilt

WiltOnTilt concludes his review of Rich's play at 2-tables of 100NL Heads Up.

About Mentor Subscribe to

DeucesCracked coaches Mentor their students in these coaching videos.

Tags

wiltontilt mentor 100nl 100 nl hunlhe heads up video review

Video Details

Downloads

Premium Subscribers can download high-quality, DRM-free videos in multiple formats.

Sign Up Today


Comments for Mentor: WiltOnTilt (#3) - 100NL HU Review Part 2

or track by Email or RSS

QuadDeuces

Avatar for QuadDeuces

1838 posts
Joined 09/2008

richbrown

Avatar for richbrown

280 posts
Joined 09/2008

Time Link to 00:15:50

I was using the stat F_BB (fold bb to steal) instead of the positional VPIP. I should upgrade the hud for positional stats tho, something I have to get used to.

Posted almost 8 years ago

richbrown

Avatar for richbrown

280 posts
Joined 09/2008

Time Link to 00:34:52

do you think a shove might have been better then small on turn and shove river?

Posted almost 8 years ago

Acombfosho

Avatar for Acombfosho

3147 posts
Joined 06/2008

jimmyfloyd

Avatar for jimmyfloyd

81 posts
Joined 03/2008

Some good content in this video, but it was slightly confused by the fact that WoT mixed up Rich's continuation bet stat with his fold to continuation bet stat (WoT quoted Rich's FCB stat of around 70% as fold to Cbet when this is actually his Cbet stat)

Posted almost 8 years ago

chinz

Avatar for chinz

65 posts
Joined 02/2009

00:27

That river bet-fold made me cry. =(

00:39

If he has a hand that is potting the river for value, shouldn't we be raising really big on the river? I don't think mrlimp is ever valuebetting any 2 pair with that betsize? Maybe something like set or straight, but I'd say he pretty much has a flush or nothing. Do you agree?

Posted almost 8 years ago

goose669

Avatar for goose669

527 posts
Joined 08/2008

i would'nt mind you explaining so more about the -EV turn bet and +EV river shove scenario wilt.

Posted almost 8 years ago

sheepeatjoe

Avatar for sheepeatjoe

3 posts
Joined 11/2009

very very very good video. this series is awesome.

Posted almost 8 years ago

bezzer11

Avatar for bezzer11

11 posts
Joined 09/2009

Time Link to 00:17:27

Hi Wilt great content I enjoyed it. I frequently get in this spot HU where im OOP and I cbet with my air and then get check raised on a board like this where my opponent has a very polarized range. I just have trouble in these spots shoving with NO pot equity. I feel like floating is an option but against a barreler "your lighting money on fire." Against that type of opponent 100bb's deep do u shove with no pot equity or do u need at least a gutter? Or does pot equity even matter in a spot like this because shoving is going to be so profitable? I feel like in order to take my game to the next level I need to be less pot equity conscience. Please let me know what you think and how would you approach this situation at different limits?

Posted almost 8 years ago

WiltOnTilt

Avatar for WiltOnTilt

2988 posts
Joined 10/2007

do you think a shove might have been better then small on turn and shove river?



Sorry it took so long to get back to this thread.

I don't think a turn shove is better because you have such bad equity when called and i think that turn brings a lot of hands that are simply going to call whatever you bet. pair + oesd, TP, draw + draw, etc

Posted almost 8 years ago

WiltOnTilt

Avatar for WiltOnTilt

2988 posts
Joined 10/2007

Some good content in this video, but it was slightly confused by the fact that WoT mixed up Rich's continuation bet stat with his fold to continuation bet stat (WoT quoted Rich's FCB stat of around 70% as fold to Cbet when this is actually his Cbet stat)



Sorry for the confusion there. I should have asked rich what his layout was prior to making the video.

in my hud, i use FCB as fold to cbet, but i think the default is "flop cbet" so that was hosing me up. My apologies.

Posted almost 8 years ago

WiltOnTilt

Avatar for WiltOnTilt

2988 posts
Joined 10/2007

i would'nt mind you explaining so more about the -EV turn bet and +EV river shove scenario wilt.



There are spots that come up fairly often in nlhe where the turn will bring a card that likely adds a gutshot or oesd or flush draw to the likely hands that are being peel. Think about how the turn card affects the hands you're likely getting called with on the flop. Here's an example:

Say the board is QHeart TSpade 7Spade, and the turn brings something like the 8Heart. The 8 hits some hands he peels the flop with, but also improves a lot of the other weak made hands he peels the flop with. So stuff like T9,JT,79,76,Q9,T6,AJ,TxHeartHeart,7xHeartHeart all get improved by that turn card. This is a good chunk of a person's flop calling range, which means it's likely a turn 2 barrel with a hand like AKo is probably a -EV bet, however, if you combine the turn bet with a river bet, it is likely +EV. The reason is because a lot of the hands that will improve him on the river are very obvious and we don't have to bluff those rivers. When the river blanks, he has many more hands in his turn calling range that will be hard pressed to call the river now. Make sense? So essentially we're taking slightly the worst of it by betting the turn, but we know we can play very well on the river and he'll have many more combos of river hands that we can make him fold with our river bet. Also it's worth noting that when he hits the turn card with something like J9 or T8 here, we're likely getting raised and the bluff is over, which again, reduces the number of hands he can call us with on the river (since he raised them on the turn!) and therefore our river bet is even more profitable.

Look for these spots next time you're considering a 2 barrel and you say to yourself "nah, that turn card helps his range more than it helps mine"

Hope that helps
WoT

Posted almost 8 years ago

WiltOnTilt

Avatar for WiltOnTilt

2988 posts
Joined 10/2007

Hi Wilt great content I enjoyed it. I frequently get in this spot HU where im OOP and I cbet with my air and then get check raised on a board like this where my opponent has a very polarized range. I just have trouble in these spots shoving with NO pot equity. I feel like floating is an option but against a barreler "your lighting money on fire." Against that type of opponent 100bb's deep do u shove with no pot equity or do u need at least a gutter? Or does pot equity even matter in a spot like this because shoving is going to be so profitable? I feel like in order to take my game to the next level I need to be less pot equity conscience. Please let me know what you think and how would you approach this situation at different limits?




It's a good question. Let me answer your question with a question Smile Did you watch Math of NLHE? This is a great spot to analyze by looking at the number of combinations of value hands you think he can have and then compare it to how often you need him to fold to a reraise (and choose your size...shove or smaller reraise?) Once we find the number of combos of value hands, we can figure out how many combos of bluffing hands he needs in order to make a reraise profitable.

Similarly, if we're deciding on floating, we need to have some indication for how often he follows through on the turn with various hands (air/tp/set hands). The answer might be a lot. If it is, we have 2 options then on the turn. Raise... or float again Smile People might be afraid to double float in a spot like this, but it is very difficult for him to c/r bluff and keep firing 2 more streets when the board texture doesn't change much. Granted, against this stack size, double float is no good, but it's something you should be thinking about against deeper and more aggro/thinking players.

I wouldnt necessarily expect this particular guy (given stack size) to have as polarized of a range as someone with 100bb... in other words, i think this short stack could c/r and get it in with 6x Tx sets slowplayed overpairs, and the oesd...so i think just bet/fold is perfectly fine here.

I would seriously encourage you to go back to the math series and try to work out a few scenarios that come up, especially as it relates to the number of combinations for value hands vs bluffs needed to play back and get a feel for it. That should help you with your "needing equity" dilemma. As always when talking about fold equity, the more pot equity you have the less FE you need... so certainly having a gutshot vs having 0% equity when called is a huge difference.

WoT

Posted almost 8 years ago

WiltOnTilt

Avatar for WiltOnTilt

2988 posts
Joined 10/2007

very very very good video. this series is awesome.



thanks buddy

Posted almost 8 years ago

SA_79

Avatar for SA_79

3 posts
Joined 01/2010

Time Link to 00:19:33

Beginning of a great analysis about thoughts and considerations when deciding on boards that may be good to double float and set you up to make a good play on the river.

Posted over 7 years ago

SA_79

Avatar for SA_79

3 posts
Joined 01/2010

Well, if you set yourself up better for a jam on the river- then yes. However, by not raising the turn- you are faced with the decision of what you should bet and if you would have built the pot it would be a no brainer of whether to jam. In addition, a raise would have maybe disguised your flush more. I find that raising the turn as a semi bluff disguises the semi bluff more than the semibluff on the flop typically. And you can always raise a small amount on the turn giving him a hard price to fold to.

Posted over 7 years ago

undisclosed

Avatar for undisclosed

2 posts
Joined 04/2010

Time Link to 00:10:17

wilt, i think you got the stats mixed up there. it seems to me like that FCB stat is actually his flop cbet stat, and FvCB is his fold to flop cbet, which isn't nearly as high as 75%.

Posted over 7 years ago

undisclosed

Avatar for undisclosed

2 posts
Joined 04/2010

Time Link to 00:52:17

is this a bad spot for a semi buff c/r on the 45dd hand? we rep a turned 2 pair or at least a good A, and our opponent should have a tough time continuing with a K.

Posted over 7 years ago

Liquid Cash

Avatar for Liquid Cash

144 posts
Joined 07/2011

Liquid Cash

Avatar for Liquid Cash

144 posts
Joined 07/2011

WiltOnTilt

Avatar for WiltOnTilt

2988 posts
Joined 10/2007

What kinds of boards DO you like donk betting on?



lower, somewhat less coordinated ones where it's a little easier to get him to fold right away or be confident in which cards we could be more inclined to keep bluffing. On this board, he's going to be able to call with a lot of holdings and we might be tempted to bluff some of the cards that hit him

Posted over 5 years ago

WiltOnTilt

Avatar for WiltOnTilt

2988 posts
Joined 10/2007

What turn cards would you bet on the right?



might continue betting A, T, or maybe a lower card like 2-5 to make him fold his straight draws he peeled. The T, similar to 7, hits his straight draws by giving a pair some, but at least we have extra equity and probably dont get raised on that turn too terribly often. The 7 on the other hand, we have less equity, its another card he might continue peeling on a fair amount. If we bet that turn and he calls we probably need to shove the river.

Posted over 5 years ago



HomePoker Videos → Mentor → WiltOnTilt (#3) - 100NL HU Review Part 2