Poker Video: No Limit Hold'Em by WiltOnTilt (Micro/Small Stakes)

Mentor: WiltOnTilt (#4) - 100NL HU Review Part 1

This video is a two minute preview. To view the entire video, please Log In or Sign Up Now

Mentor: WiltOnTilt (#4) - 100NL HU Review Part 1 by WiltOnTilt

WiltOnTilt reviews a video by Rich as he plays 2-tables of 100NL Heads Up.

About Mentor Subscribe to

DeucesCracked coaches Mentor their students in these coaching videos.

Tags

wiltontilt mentor 100nl 100 nl hunlhe heads up video review

Video Details

Downloads

Premium Subscribers can download high-quality, DRM-free videos in multiple formats.

Sign Up Today


Comments for Mentor: WiltOnTilt (#4) - 100NL HU Review Part 1

or track by Email or RSS

richbrown

Avatar for richbrown

280 posts
Joined 09/2008

Its funny the stuff you didn't realise you did till after you watch it back.

thanks I found it very helpfull.

Posted almost 8 years ago

yoguile

Avatar for yoguile

5 posts
Joined 02/2008

WiltOnTilt

Avatar for WiltOnTilt

2988 posts
Joined 10/2007

Nice vid.
Is it a sort of blocking bet with 88 ?



I think it was kind of an "i dont know what to do with my hand" bet lol Smile

Let me know if I need to expand on any of the reasons as to why it's a bad value bet or bad bluff.

WoT

Posted almost 8 years ago

lagomatic

Avatar for lagomatic

4 posts
Joined 01/2009

Two times, I see Rich not defending with Ax hands on the right table even though villain is actively stealing.

http://www.deucescracked.com/videos/1253-WiltOnTilt-4-100NL-HU-Review-Part-1?seek=1569
http://www.deucescracked.com/videos/1253-WiltOnTilt-4-100NL-HU-Review-Part-1?seek=2180

In the 2nd situation (2nd link), I can somewhat understand our fold based on dynamics (we were pretty active the last few hands before). However, in the 1st spot (1st link), I would have defended.

In difference to that, Rich prefers to defend with more of IO hands. My question is: you didn't comment on those hands at all, WiltOnTilt. From that I conclude, you think its better not to defend with Ax in those spots?

EDIT: sorry in both cases the hand comes up a few secs after the link.

Posted almost 8 years ago

WiltOnTilt

Avatar for WiltOnTilt

2988 posts
Joined 10/2007

in general we teach in the pr1nnyraiding series to defend A9o+ vs anyone and maybe down to A7 or A8o vs guys who are stealing a lot and preferably playing straight forward postflop.

there are very few ppl I'm defending A6o and worse against if they are 3x'ing it from the button.

Vs most ppl if I'm playing a hand like A2o it's for a 3bet preflop

Posted almost 8 years ago

yoguile

Avatar for yoguile

5 posts
Joined 02/2008

So let me try to explain why it's a bad value bet or bad bluff and correct me if I am wrong.

1- Bad value bet:
We can put Villain on KT, Qx, 43s, Ah3h,Ah2h, 44-77.
I don't think Villain can call with worse on this board.
If I was playing, at the time I don't have the read that he checks behind with top pair so I don't put TJ on his range lol :-)

2- Bad Bluff:
We would like to make fold top pair or second pair (if we put him on a J) and we can represent 9J, Ahxh, Q9,( KQ if we flat preflop).
This opponent never seems to fold top pair. Perhaps if we do a big overbet.

3- Blocking bet
We don't want to check fold and we are afraid that villain turn a made hand into a bluff with a big overbet. We don't want to check call more than 7$.
I don't think this opponent is capable of turning 55 into a bluff.
I don't think he value bet a worse hand than 88.
So we can see a free showdown with our hand.

Posted almost 8 years ago

poolsweeper

Avatar for poolsweeper

395 posts
Joined 12/2008

Time Link to 00:04:36

by this logic, shouldn't you be opening a bit bigger (say 3.5x) from the BTN?

Posted almost 8 years ago

richbrown

Avatar for richbrown

280 posts
Joined 09/2008

So let me try to explain why it's a bad value bet or bad bluff and correct me if I am wrong.

1- Bad value bet:
We can put Villain on KT, Qx, 43s, Ah3h,Ah2h, 44-77.
I don't think Villain can call with worse on this board.
If I was playing, at the time I don't have the read that he checks behind with top pair so I don't put TJ on his range lol :-)



I was going for a value bet with that range in mind (not flushes) but realised after it was to thin and unlikely to get called by worse. I was keeping in mind villains lighter calldowns but this board is totally different.

Posted almost 8 years ago

goose669

Avatar for goose669

527 posts
Joined 08/2008

Time Link to 00:37:34

when we cr that flop our range is so strong i dont see what he can continue with here? if there was 2 cards to a flush then cr seems fine, as he could put us on the draw and shove?just a thought

Posted almost 8 years ago

WiltOnTilt

Avatar for WiltOnTilt

2988 posts
Joined 10/2007

when we cr that flop our range is so strong i dont see what he can continue with here? if there was 2 cards to a flush then cr seems fine, as he could put us on the draw and shove?just a thought



if you feel this way that means you're either playing wayyyyy too tight to checkraises or you aren't checkraising your opponents enough. There are tons of pure gutters, pair + gutters, overcards, etc that it should be easy for our villains to continue with tons of hands here when we checkraise.

try opening up your checkraise dynamic up if you feel like you never get paid off in these spots.

WoT

Posted almost 8 years ago

goose669

Avatar for goose669

527 posts
Joined 08/2008

yea think you have hit the nail on the head there.

thanks, will try adjusting things

Steve

Posted almost 8 years ago

simonpoker

Avatar for simonpoker

1221 posts
Joined 02/2008

Shilenoz

Avatar for Shilenoz

2 posts
Joined 05/2009

Time Link to 00:20:32

I think 3 betting A5s is not good at all. Maybe rich was kinda trying to get his 3 bet number up or something. Anyways, dont like it at all, way to waste a very playable hand and if you get called ur in bad shape

Posted almost 8 years ago



HomePoker Videos → Mentor → WiltOnTilt (#4) - 100NL HU Review Part 1